Month: October 2011

  • after the honeymoon cont'd.

    Further self reflection now that the shiny newness of the job has faded, and the real day to day:

    4.  I am not able to work more than 8 hours in a day without feeling like there is no justice in the world and there is no hope left in the world.  I can't imagine doing all nighters again.  And I may be a wee bit overdramatic.

    5.  My addiction to diet coke is ridiculous.  today I had three diet cokes.  and i want another one. right.now.please.

    6.  I hate traffic but I may hate moving more.  Also I have commitment issues.

    7.  I spend a LOT of money on mediocre lunches and dinners and it irks me. 

    8.  I always think I'll start working out tomorrow but I forget to pack my gym gear. :T.

    9.  My poor, poor, disaster of a car.  I can never volunteer to drive because it's ridiculously full of crap.

    10.  I've been doing this for years and I'm pretty much unquestionably an adult now but I still feel like a kid at work. Sigh.

  • after the honeymoon

    dealing with the post honeymoon with job sitch lately.  and i've come to some rather distressing realizations.

    1. i don't really know how to be "me" in the work place (ugh, i feel like such a tool even writing this, but in a lot of ways it's true).  for one thing i don't go by gus. i go by one of my other names, and i find myself trying to be as innocuous and bland as possible while i'm at work. in some ways that's expected and we all do so to a certain extent, but it's so much easier to just hide and if i can't hide, instead of talking with people i talk at them with facts.  (or that may be just because i'm a nerd and that's how i communicate. socially expected conversation? let me tell you about all the interesting things i learned about how our brains make decisions and our frontal cortex vs the amygdala! whee!
    2. i'm rather insufferable. i think my anxiety and awkwardness in small talky and social situations is rooted in selfishness. all i can talk about lately is how i'm quote/unquote suffering but honestly i've got a pretty good gig and yet i can't help but think in those small talk moments how much i want to just go hide in my office or not deal with engaging with people because i can't think of anything to say or i'll say the wrong thing or i'll end up looking like a fool.  but i have to remember to focus on the other person.  i dunno why professional small talk situations throw me for such a loop, but they do. it's hard to be whole in the workplace for me.
    3. i am freaking slow.